My rekindled N97 love-affair

Posted: February 25, 2010 in Nokia Phone Review, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Since Nokia released their latest firmware (21.2.045) for the N97 I went from loving my phone to wanting to throw it against the wall. Luckily I loved it enough to spend the time trying to get it back to the phone I knew before the update. After 4 hard resets and a mass storage defrag I was still having issues.  In short, the phone was restarting itself 2 or 3 times a day and when it stayed on I would get memory full errors when trying to use the built-in web browser, Nimbuzz or Nokia Communities. I also could no longer use the FOTA feature as selecting the icon just resulted in the screen blinking and returning to the Applications menu without searching for updates.

What rekindled my love for the N97? The thanks go to Ricky Cadden at Symbian-Guru.com and his response to a comment I made on his article, “Anssi Vanjoki On The Nokia N97 Debacle“.  Ricky pointed out that since I had not formatted the mass storage drive I would run into many problems. As all my Nokia Music is on my mass storage drive I was reluctant to do the formatting. However, the problems continued and out of frustration and hope I bit the bullet and did a 5th reset and formatted the mass storage drive.

Problem solved! Well at least until I started adding some apps back on the phone. Luckily I tracked each app as I installed it and to test the phone I would use the browser and Nimbuzz, after reinstalling it, and FOTA all at the same time. Everything worked for a day until I loaded the last two applications….Nokia Sports Tracker and Handy Taskman. The phone started repeating the problems and I since I tracked the installs I did not return to a state of frustration.

I removed both apps and the phone has been perfect for the past two days and I can’t do anything to make the breaks reappear. To demonstrate this, and for the purpose of this article, I had Ovi Maps, Nimbuzz, and ScreenSnap all running at the same time with Communities and AccuWeather active on my homescreen. I was also able to use FOTA with no issues!

At this point I have no plans of installing Taskman until I contact the makers to let them know of the issues. I beleive the application has not been changed since the N97 was released in June 2009 and there may be a conflict between Taskman and v21.2.045. As for Nokia Sports Tracker, I will give it one more shot as it is one of my favorite Nokia apps of all time. I haven’t installed my music again and I’m saving that for after the reinstall of Sports Tracker and ensuring a couple of days of stability….both for the phone and me.

Thanks for your suggestions Ricky. Thanks to you I am in love with my N97 again!

Comments
  1. Gav Robertson says:

    Yeah I just threw mine at my wall. Now the screen won’t turn on. Brilliat.

Leave a Reply

