Fixing Nokia’s Map Loader for the N900

Posted: March 15, 2010 in Applications
Tags: , , ,

May 26th update…

PR 1.2 was released today for the N900. If you’ve installed it and tried to use Map Loader it is once again not working. No fear. My fix for the post PR 1.2 upgrade is posted here

April 28th update…

I broke my own fix a week ago and after much frustration fixed it. If the fix detailed below doesn’t work you may also want to look at my other fix shown here

A quick update added April 9, 2010….

I originally wrote this article on March 15th and it has been a little over 3 weeks since I wrote it. Everything is still functioning fine as I can still connect the device in PC Suite mode and Maps Loader recognizes my device and allows me to remove and load maps.

Original article:

Like so many other postings I’ve read many of us still have not been able to use Nokia’s Map Loader with our N900s, even after the update. I kept receiving an error that stated I either had an older version of Maps and needed to update, or that my device was plugged in as PC Suite when it should be in mass storage, or that I have not opened Maps yet.  Of course none of this applied so I decided to do a little snooping around and I found a simple fix.

As you may know Ovi Maps uses a file that is installed in memory when Maps is initially opened and this file is called “qf” (without the quotes). As I investigated I found out that the qf file is stored in the root directory of the internal memory of the N900 but it is called “.qf” (again without the quotes). Even though the file is there Maps Loader doesn’t recognize it. Following the steps below I was able to get my device to be recognized by Maps Loader and I am now able to load maps.

1. Open Maps and once it loads close it.

2. Connect your N900 to your PC in Mass Storage

3. Go to your internal memory drive in My Computer (F on my PC) and open it (make sure you have the ability to view hidden and system files turned on for your PC)

4. In the list of files and folders look for a file called .qf

5. Rename the file from .qf to qf

6. Disconnect your N900 by removing the USB cable

7. Reconnect the USB and select PC Suite mode (yes I did this in PC Suite mode, not Mass Storage)

8. Open Maps loader and be patient

Once I got to step 8 it took about 5 minutes for Maps Loader to view my device and update it accordingly. Once that was done I was able to view the various countries and load the maps I wanted.

I opened Ovi Maps and searched for a city I have not been to with the device that I knew would be in a map I loaded. I selected the city when it was found and when I went to the city it loaded the map instantly. SUCCESS!!!!

Good luck all. Hope this helps. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Comments
  1. Rok says:

    I can’t find that file “.qt” or just “qt” anywhere?? Can you specify in which folder this file should be? Thanks.

    • Lloyd says:

      If you are viewing the root directory from the N900 itself you won’t see the file as it is a system file and is hidden. If you are using a PC with Windows to view the contents of the N900 then you need to make sure you have your PC setting’s configured to allow you to view hidden and system files. Here is a screen capture of where the file is located on my N900. The direct link is https://lloydjr.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/screen1.jpg

  2. Politikanis says:

    Отличный блог посещаемость смотрю у вас большая как удалось этого добиться.
    Hello nice blog I agree with you

  3. Matt says:

    Thanks Lloyd. I’d previously had to do the “loading maps without the loader” hack but this fixed my problem – well it seems to have… it’s still taking forever to delete my old maps, but at least it’s now found my phone! Just for reference my machine’s running Windows 7 64 bit and my map loader is version 3.0.28.0.

    • Lloyd says:

      I’m glad it worked out Matt. Be careful with that cities folder. Don’t repeat my mistake and try and delete it manually or you’ll have to start all over again. I did that last week and yesterday posted what I had to do to fix it. If your interested you can see it at http://wp.me/pOhA7-cM

  4. Adamf says:

    As a websitedeveloper I can say that your page was pretty informative.Thanks for the insights

  5. Zilvinas says:

    All OVI maps needs is simple rename of /home/user/MyDocs/.qf to /home/user/MyDocs/qf

    – Run terminal and type: cp /home/user/MyDocs/.qf /home/user/MyDocs/qf

  6. bhushan says:

    Hi

    I have loaded maps after the firmware update manually of my city now it is not working with map loader how to go about it

  7. Wumi Bee says:

    I have 2 problems

    1) I have spent 2 full nights following Nokia’s instruction on how to download the maps on my N900 to no avail. I keep doing the delete cities thing over and over again, then connect back…. It is not working. Meanwhile, there is no “.qf” file on my device at all. Wierd, isn’t it? What do I do please as the maps is still not on my phone now and am clueless as to what to do without the very important “qf” file which is non-existent on my device.

    2) In my frustrations and all (at doing the same thing over and again without success – ofcourse), I have now deleted the “tmp” folder on the N900. I can see from the snapshot of your N900 system folders/files that it is on your device too which most likely means it’s another important thing. Have you any ideas how to get it back (like what application will initiate its creation)…

    HELP!!! Somebody please HELP!!! I am getting really desperate here

  8. Wumi Bee says:

    Looking forward to any helpful info
    For the record, I already updated the firmware to the latest (ofcourse) and I am not too savvy when it comes to all these “software” things

    Thanx again

  9. Dzano says:

    Thank youu…it’s working

Leave a Reply

