Post PR 1.2 upgrade fix for Nokia Map Loader & your N900

Posted: May 26, 2010 in Applications
Tags: , , , ,

If you’re like me you updated your N900 to the latest firmware as soon as it was available in your area. And if you’re really like me you probably re-installed all your apps and then went to see if Ovi Maps is any better. Then if you’re really, really like me you connected to your computer in PC Suite mode to see if the Ovi Map Loader is still working.

Were you shocked when you saw that it wasn’t? Probably not and I wasn’t either. But after about an hour of work I was able to get Map Loader working on PR 1.2. The steps below outline what you need to do. Please note that if you didn’t use my other fixes for PR 1.1 those steps will probably work for PR 1.2 as this fix is based upon the earlier steps. To view the first fix go here and for the follow-up fix go here.

PR 1.2 steps:

The entire process described below took about 45 minutes to complete. For obvious reasons do not disconnect your N900 until the indicated steps. Doing so will probably force a reinstall of PR 1.2 and you’ll have to start everything all over again.

  1. After doing your upgrade to PR 1.2 open Ovi Maps and accept the terms
  2. Connect your N900 in Mass Storage mode
  3. View your N900 mass storage or internal memory drive (view image)
  4. You will see your old qf file from PR 1.1 from the previous repair I published. You will also see a new .qf file created after your upgrade to PR 1.2 (view image)
  5. Rename your old qf file to something else (I used qf_old)
  6. Make a copy of your new .qf file and paste it into the folder where you found it  (I used Copy of .qf)
  7. Rename your .qf file to qf
  8. Disconnect your N900 from your computer
  9. Reconnect your N900 to your computer in PC Suite mode
  10. Open Maps Loader and your N900 should be recognized. You will know if it is as a screen appears telling you that there is new map data available and that it will be updated (view image)
  11. Select the check mark and you should see a screen that says “Preparing” (view image)
  12. Map Loader will automatically delete your old map data (view image)
  13. After the old data is deleted it will take Map Loader a little bit of time to prepare the device to go to the next step (view image)
  14. Once your N900 is fully prepared Map Loader will automatically replace the previous data it deleted (view image)
  15. Once all updates are done you will see a screen stating it is completing the process (view image)
  16. Your N900 will go through a quick update process and then send you to the Map Loader page. In the bottom left you should see your N900 connected, the connection mode and the map version (view image)
  17. Disconnect your N900 from your computer and open Ovi Maps. Do a search for a place in maps and when you select your results you should have your map load instantly. VIOLA!

Comments
  1. leon says:

    Maps updating finally! thanks very much for this assisance.
    Its only becauseof the problem solvers like yourselves that this device remains a premium device….even then you have to be…patient and technically apt.

  2. n9oo says:

    at the step 10 “Open Maps Loader and your N900 should be recognized. You will know if it is as a screen appears telling you that there is new map data available and that it will be updated (view image)”

    i didn’t get any message from map loader…..i connected via Pc Suite.

    HELP plz

    • Lloyd says:

      It takes some time for Maps Loader to recognize your device. I am assuming you did step 1. If not then you need to open Ovi Maps first.

      The only other thing that comes to mind to ask is if you have PC Suite on your computer (assuming you are using a PC and not a Mac). If you don’t have PC Suite then you need to download it from the Nokia site. If you are using Ovi Suite that won’t help as it does not support the N900.

  3. pepelagotto says:

    i have just got my n900 on may29, then downloaded the firmware upgrade. i only saw your pr1.2 fix this week…i have never downloaded any maps before the firmware upgrade so not sure if i did this right:
    – i went into mass storage mode and renamed the .qf file to qf.
    – then i hook up in pcsuite
    – however i cannot find the program MAPS LOADER on the pssuite menu. there is however an icon called DOWNLOAD MAPS.

    question: how to do find MAPS LOADER, do i have to install this in pcsuite, or a separate program on my PC desktop?

  4. pepelagotto says:

    sorry disreard previous post, i have found Map Loader, it works fine now.

    A note on the Nokia USA website for MapLoader: it mentions a foot note that N900 should be connected in mass storage mode, not in PCSuite mode as for all other phones. I first tried this before opening Map Loader, but it would not recognize my phone. Then in PCSuite mode it worked fine.

    Question: Although i have not tested it, does anyone know if MapLoader will connect to the N900 in mass storage mode, if the file .qf is NOT renamed to qf ?? Otherwise it seems unusual why would Nokia make this special note for the N900?

    • Lloyd says:

      No it won’t connect in Mass Storage. I have tested it many times, even after the PR1.2 upgrade and Map Loader still will only work in PC Suite mode. When you connect in Mass Storage ML sees the device but gives you the familiar “….without a valid Maps drive” error.

      Given this fact you would think Nokia would change their site.

  5. Mohamed Kaleel says:

    Excellent dude.

  6. pepelagotto says:

    I am still not sure if the Map Loader is getting the maps onto my N900. Opening Maps on the N900 i cannot access any address in offline mode.

    • Lloyd says:

      I am not sure but I don’t think the N900 will search addresses in offline mode. I seem to recall comments on other sites stating that it will not work in offline mode.

  7. pepelagotto says:

    I downloaded europe and north america, that should be at least 5 GB, but cannot see that much files in Filemanager.

  8. Lloyd says:

    File manager on the N900 is not the best way to view your files. While there are other methods I usually just connect my N900 to my PC in Mass Storage mode. From there I can access both the internal and external memory drives.

    I just looked in mine by doing this and in the internal memory (called Removable Disk on my PC) there is a folder called cities.Right clicking on that folder should allow you to view the properties. I only have 2 US states (Calif & Arizona) loaded onto mine and there are 485 files in 365 folders that take a total disk size amount of 195MB.

    It does take some time to load the files. I only have 2 states and it took quite some time. If you are doing all of North America and Europe I’m sure it will take a good amount of time to load.

  9. Hamzeh N. says:

    Hi,

    this didn’t work on my N900. I never used the map updater with the N900, and recently updated my firmware to the official PR1.2.

    I found a .qf file in /home/user/MyDocs/ but the date stamp on it was from 2009 (before the firmware update).

    I also found another file called qf (without the dot) under citis/diskcache/ with a 2009 date stamp as will.

    The .qf file in /home/user/MyDocs seems to be newer because the contents mention a newer build version.

    I can turn on Ovi Maps normally and I do not get the license agreement prompt. I probably got it when I first used Ovi Maps.

    Any ideas?

    • Lloyd says:

      The only idea that comes to mind is one that I would do only if it were critical for me to download maps from Map Loader. If so, delete all qf and .qf files, delete the cities folder and then re-install the latest firmware. Once that is done then opening Maps should give you the licensing screen.

      Again, this is something I don’t recommend unless it is crucial for you to use Map Loader. Doing a re-install of the firmware will reset everything else on your N900 so you’ll have to set everything up all over again.

  10. anu says:

    no re dialing facility in n900, also asigning ringing tune for contacts not possible,vedio call not possible

  11. pepelagotto says:

    fyi if any of you have had problems downloading maps from Map Loader… i found out that i have to first DELETE any maps on my N900 with the button in Map Loader, before DOWNLOADING new maps. Now i have maps on it and works fine.

  12. Kyle says:

    wonderful blog…keep it up

  13. batjargal says:

    Dear Lloyd,

    Earlier i did your fix 1 and it has fixed and i downloaded maps. After reading all the steps i found 2 problems

    1) when i connect through Mass storage mode i can only see directory called “Data” which has a directory “DCIM” in it and nothing in both of them.
    2) When i connect my N900 to PC through PC suite mode then i can see all directories and files including the “Data” in which i can only find the “qf” but not “.qf”. Seems after a installed PR1.2 it didnot generate the new “.qf” on my device.
    Pls help me on this. Regards

  14. batjargal says:

    Dear Lloyd,

    Earlier i did your fix 1 and it has fixed and i downloaded maps. After reading all the steps i found 2 problems

    1) when i connect through Mass storage mode i can only see directory called “Data” which has a directory “DCIM” in it and nothing in both of them.
    2) When i connect my N900 to PC through PC suite mode then i can see all directories and files including the “Data” in which i can only find the “qf” but not “.qf”. Seems after a installed PR1.2 it didnot generate the new “.qf” on my device.
    Pls help me on this.

    • Lloyd says:

      If you did not start from step 1 as shown above by opening Maps before trying to do the rest of the fixes then there is the issue. New Maps does not recognize the old qf file. You’ll know the new .qf will be created if when you open maps you see and accept the terms and conditions. If you did not see that message then you probably need to reinstall the firmware as I think when you did the upgrade it might not have updated Ovi Maps.

  15. Saif says:

    I had previously tries Lloyd’s fix for Ovi suite not detecting my N900. That worked for me. After flashing my N900 and following Lloyd’s fix I then connected my phone to update maps. Guess what it what was not updating my maps. Thankfully I found the fix for my problem on Lloyd’s website. I followed the steps and ovi maps worked. Thanks again Lloyd.

  16. Lloyd says:

    In preparation for selling my N900 I just re-flashed my N900, re-installed PR 1.2 and then went through the steps I have here. I’m happy to report it all worked exactly the same as when i wrote this post. As I am writing this comment I deleted all previous maps and I am uploading the entire USA map for the lucky buyer!

Leave a Reply

