Fix for Ovi Suite sync with Nokia N900

Posted: August 18, 2010 in Applications
Tags: , ,

UPDATE Oct. 4, 2010: Eyal had posted a comment with an additional fix he identified and his steps are below. If these don’t work for you continue reading on for the original fix I posted. Thanks Eyal!

1. Close (shut down) the Ovi Suite.
2. Rename the IntelliSync folder to something else like “IntelliSync_OLD”.
3. Now open Ovi Suite and try to sync your contacs. You won’t be able to do that (due to the previos step) but this forces the Ovi Suite to re-create that folder (so now you have 2 folders: IntelliSync and IntelliSync_OLD).
4. Shut down the Ovi Suite once again.
5. Open the “IntelliSync_OLD” folder and copy “ApplicationConfiguration” to the newly create IntelliSync folder.
6. That’s it- when I tried to sync my contacts, it worked like a magic

Original Post:

We all love our N900’s but like me, lately you may have been running into issues when syncing to your Outlook calendar, contacts, notes and tasks. With some pointing in the right direction from @NokiaCareUS on twitter, and some trial and error, I finally got Ovi Suite working again, though I have no idea why it stopped working in the first place.

The repair is very simple and involves only a few steps, but it does take some time. Below are the steps:

  1. Uninstall Ovi Suite from your PC
  2. Delete the IntelliSync folder found in Documents and Settings\YOUR USERNAME IS HERE\Application Data\Nokia (you won’t find “YOUR USERNAME HERE” listed, I added that to show where the name you use to log into your PC will be placed in the string)
  3. Reboot your PC
  4. Reinstall Ovi Suite
  5. If Ovi Suite starts on it’s own do not log into it,  just close the application
  6. Reboot your PC again and while it is booting up restart your N900
  7. Ovi Suite may start on it’s own after rebooting, if not open it manually.  Finalize the set-up steps and connect your N900 at step 2, the step where you identify if you will connect via USB cable or Bluetooth. Connect your device before you go to step 3 (device set-up) and select PC Suite mode on your N900 then select the next button to go to step 3.
  8. If you get to step 3 and it goes through the process to find your device and doesn’t then unplug your N900 and select the back button to return to step 2. In step 2 connect again and select PC Suite mode on your N900 and select the next button to go to step 3 once again (I had to do this 2 times before Ovi Suite finally recognized my N900)

Once your device is recognized you can finish your set-up process and sync your device. Please note that the initial sync will take quite some time as Ovi Suite needs to rebuild the configuration files on your PC. After I got everything working my initial sync took close to 40 minutes to complete so make sure you don’t unplug the device and you start the process when you have plenty of time.

Good luck!

Comments
  1. John Matthews says:

    HI
    I have now tried every conceivable solution to the problem, but nothing works. It has been 1 month on tireless rebooting and adjusying and still nothing works. I have been able to link my n900 to my pc (Hp Probook 4520s) and I can see the files and directories on my phone. I cannot get Pc Suite or OVI to link as it does not even recognise the usb connection or the bluetooth connection. it cannot see the phone in both modes. where do i go from here? thank you

    • Lloyd says:

      Have you tried to reinstall the firmware on your N900? Like all of the other Nokia devices you do have to do this everyone once in awhile to purge crud.

  2. Hasan says:

    hi
    i’m unable to find the folder on my pc
    i’m on Windows 7 Professional
    i cant see any folder named Application Data, Intellisync or Documents & Settings for that matter
    is the folder named differently on Win 7????
    can u help me please cause i’m unable to sync my contacts.
    thanks

  3. Oliver Kelly says:

    Worked for me.

    Had to uninstall ovisuite, pcsuite.
    Downloaded the pc suite cleaner and ran that.

    The “Application Data” folder is hidden, so you have to type the path in manually.

    Deleted the Nokia folders.

    Rebooted

    Restarted phone

    Installed latest download of ovi suite.

    Working again.

    What confused me it kept on trying to install the drivers, but these are not installed until part way through the ovi suite installation.

    Many thanks for your guide.

  4. Saif says:

    Thanx… This worked. I was worried because I had flashed my N900 y’day. This was really helpful. Thanx a ToN

  5. snow says:

    Hello,

    thanks for the help, for the first time I got my contacts and pictures synched, but, how can I sync my Outlook calendar, that’s the most important thing. I can find in options and all the settings are as I like, but in sync now the calendar and tasks are gray, any idea?

    • Lloyd says:

      Glad I was able to help.

      For your calendar I can tell you that Ovi Suite takes forever to recognize your Outlook profile. To ensure the right calendar is selected go to Tools > Options > Calendars and Tasks.

      When you select Calendars and Tasks you should see a Microsoft Outlook box with the loading circle running. Be patient and let it load all of the instances of possible Outlook profiles. If you are on a PC for work and it is a networked instance of Outlook with multiple folders (like mine) it will take some time.

      Once it is loaded select the Outlook folder you would like Ovi to sync. Make any other changes you like and select the Ok button. That should tell Ovi which folder and should allow you to sync. But be warned, every time you open Ovi Suite to use it the Calendar sync will take awhile to load as it needs to re-access the Outlook folder you specified each time (a design fault in my mind but it is what it is). If you try and sync too soon and the Calendar sync section is grayed out it is probably because it hasn’t finished loading the calendar folder you specified.

      I hope this helps you.

  6. Shantanu says:

    Hi
    Thanks for the detailed description for the sync. I have only one query… Is there any way by which I can install applications using the OVI Suite?
    Regards
    Shantanu

  7. Eyal says:

    Hi Lloyd,
    I think I found a workaround that doesn’t require uninstalling and installing the Ovi Suite.
    What I did was:
    1. Close (shut down) the Ovi Suite.
    2. Rename the IntelliSync folder to something else like “IntelliSync_OLD”.
    3. Now open Ovi Suite and try to sync your contacs. You won’t be able to do that (due to the previos step) but this forces the Ovi Suite to re-create that folder (so now you have 2 folders: IntelliSync and IntelliSync_OLD).
    4. Shut down the Ovi Suite once again.
    5. Open the “IntelliSync_OLD” folder and copy “ApplicationConfiguration” to the newly create IntelliSync folder.
    6. That’s it- when I tried to sync my contacts, it worked like a magic 🙂
    Hope that helps,
    Eyal.

    • Lloyd says:

      Thanks Eyal! I added an update to the post and added your steps. Thanks for sending them along. I’m sure the N900 user community will appreciate your shorter steps!

  8. luka says:

    Close Outlook, close OVI (completly, it should not run in background), restart OVI and sync! It worked for me.

  9. Kung says:

    Thank you Eyal, it’s worked for me.

  10. Tarun Tuli says:

    Hi All,
    I have tried Eyal suggestion but it didnt worked for me….I dont want to uninstall and install OVI again…it their another solution..I just check there is an updated of OVI available but when I try updating

    Software version 2.2.1.23 installed
    Software version 3.0.0.284 Available

    I am getting an error which says unkown signatures…

    Regards
    Tarun

  11. Brian says:

    Try going into Control Panel -Add/Remove Programs – Select Change or Remove for Nokia Ovi Suite

    A box will pop up giving you options to Remove or Repair

    Choose ‘Repair’

    Nokia the carries out a repair of the Ovi Suite which when complete a Restart is needed.

    This worked fine for me

  12. I’m not sure what you mean. Can you be a little more specific as to what you’d like to do and which RSS buttosn you’d like to avoid using?

  13. Nokia Lumia 730 error code delete

Leave a Reply

